AMB - DBIOL scientific staff association

PhD Lecture series

The D-BIOL PhD Lecture Series are a yearly series of lectures, completely organized by PhD students, given by invited world-renowed scientists on a broad spectrum of scientific topics.
Every year, a selected committee of PhD students is granted by the Department of Biology (D-BIOL) of ETH a generous budget to invite their favorite scientists to ETH.
Thus, 5-7 times per year, the committee organizes scientific talks, personal meetings, aperos and dinners with world-renowned scientists like Prof. Dr. Elizabeth Blackburn (Nobel laureate in 2009, UCSF), Prof. Dr. Stephen O'Rahilly (University of Cambridge), Prof. Dr. Christian Nüsslein-Volhard (Nobel laureate in 1995, Max-Planck Institute) and Prof. Dr. Roy Parker (University of Colorado Boulder).
This is a great opportunity (not only for PhD students, but also for PostDocs and all the scientific staff) to broaden their horizons, get input on their project and expand their network by getting in touch with scientists from all fields of biology.

Speakers 2017/2018

  • Nobel laureate Prof. Dr. Andrew Fire, Stanford University (California, USA)
    Talk:Opportunistic RNAs and Acquisitive Genomes
  • Prof. Dr. Roy Parker, University of Colorado Boulder (Colorado, USA)
    Talk:RNP Granules in Health and Disease
  • Nobel laureate Prof. Dr. Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard, Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology (Tübingen, Germany)
    Talk:How fish colour their skin: A paradigm for development and evolution of adult pattern
  • Prof. Dr. Kris Gevaert, VIB (Ghent, Belgium)
    Talk:A tale of tails; stories on protein biogenesis, acetylation, processing and stabilities
  • Prof. Dr. Cyril Zipfel, The Sainsbury Laboratory (Norwich, UK)
    Talk:Regulation of plant receptor kinase-mediated innate immunity
  • Prof. Dr. Paulien Hogeweg, Utrecht University (Utrecht, the Netherlands)
    Talk:Modeling Multilevel Evolution
  • Dr. Moritz Nowack, VIB (Ghent, Belgium)
    Talk:Meeting the Deadline: The Molecular Regulation of Programmed Cell Death During Plant Development

PhD Lecture Series

2017/2018 D-BIOL PhD Seminar Lecture Series Committee

  • President:  Gea Cereghetti (Institute of Biochemistry)
  • Treasurer:  Anna Marzelliusardottir (Institute of Biochemistry)
  • Member:  Algera Goga (Institute of Molecular Health Sciences)
  • Member:  Daniel Alexander Hoces Burga (Institute for Microbiology)
  • Member:  Apolonio Huerta (Institute of Molecular Plant Biology)
  • Member:  Michiel Karrenbelt (Institute of Molecular Systems Biology)
  • Member:  Elisabeth Kastanaki (Institute of Molecular Plant Biology)
  • Member:  Alexandra Menna (Institute of Molecular Plant Biology)
  • Member:  Sebastian Petersen (Institute of Molecular Plant Biology)

2016/2017 D-BIOL PhD Seminar Lecture Series Committee

  • President:  Ranjan Mishra (Institute of Biochemistry)
  • Treasurer:  Stefan Oberlin (Institute: Institute of Molecular Plant Biology)
  • Member:  Sarah Cherkaoui (Institute of Molecular Systems Biology)
  • Member:  Heike Duda (Institute of Biochemistry)
  • Member:  Sarah Khawaja (Institute of Biochemistry)
  • Member:  Marie-Aude Tschopp (Institute of Molecular Plant Biology)
  • Member:  Peter Renz (Institute of Molecular Health Sciences)
  • Member:  Amir Banai Esfahani (Institute of Molecular Systems Biology)
  • Member:  Daniel van Leeuwen (Institute of Molecular Plant Biology)
  • Member:  Dias Cruz Tiago Miguel Castelo (Institute of Molecular Plant Biology)

2015/2016 D-BIOL PhD Seminar Lecture Series Committee

  • President:  Irene Beusch (Institute of Molecular Biology & Biophysics)
  • Treasurer:  Romain Kooger (Institute of Molecular Biology & Biophysics)
  • Member:  Meret Arter (Institute of Biochemistry)
  • Member:  Devang Mehta (Institute of Molecular Plant Biology)
  • Member:  Ariel Bensimon (Institute of Molecular Systems Biology)
  • Member:  Asim Sengör (Institute of Biochemistry)
  • Member:  Niklas Clayton Schlüter (Institute of Molecular Biology & Biophysics)
  • Member:  Marco Tognetti (Institute of Molecular Systems Biology)